Cutting felt on the Silhouette

Happy New Year! May it be a good one for all.

A few months ago I became a member of the Facebook Group Silhouette for Fabric Lovers. At that time they had a few hundred members. Now, just a short time later, there are over 2400 members and that number keeps on growing in leaps and bounds. No wonder, it is a very helpful group with some experienced people, but also lots of new users. Everyone is helpful and quick to chime in with tips and instructions to solve problems. It also indicates how popular the Silhouette cutting machine has become with people who love fabric and applique once they learned how easy it was to cut fabric. I love it. I can either take existing designs or design my own patterns on my computer and then quickly send them to my Silhouette Cameo and they are cut out in no time. It is all digital and does not involve buying expensive dies and the machine itself does not cost an arm and a leg. Also there are a ton of videos on YouTube explaining how it all works. Besides fabric it can also cut vinyl that can be ironed onto T-shirt and such. I hope to try that out soon, but so far I have only used fabric.

One of the questions that keeps popping up on Facebook is whether it can cut felt. After some research I found out that it depends on the type of felt. It can’t be too thick and I have to admit that I have not tried it yet, but according to a video posted by Jessica Andersen it cuts a wool/rayon blend of felt quite well.  Here is the link:

felt 1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfn0y1Mrc1c

Another video, also posted by Jessica, shows the results when she cuts different types of felt.

felt 2https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2MNY1fqTq-I

There is also some information on Jessica’s blog at http://cutesycrafts.com/2014/01/experiments-with-cutting-felt-on.html .

Then there is the question of vinyl. Never having used it, this confused me a lot, but I found some good information on the Web. This article was written for the Cricut, another cutting machine, but as I understand it, the information applies to all cutting machines. Here is the link: http://allaboutvinyl.com/ .

I hope that some of you find this information useful. If you have any questions or want to add something, please leave a comment.

Until next time. Have a great day!

Author: Quilters Niche News

I am a quilter and designer of quilts and digital quilting patterns for longarm systems and machine embroidery. I love to sew and all sorts of crafts

2 thoughts on “Cutting felt on the Silhouette”

  1. Hi, I just joined Facebook so I could get to the group you mentioned silhouette for fabric lovers. I can’t find it. Could you send the link maybe? It sounds like something I’d really enjoy. Thanks

    Leslie

    >

    Like

Leave a comment

