More Luminarias

Well, it did take me longer than expected to get the additional pictures ready. Something else got in the way, as usual. Here are all 4 them including the one I showed last time:

The designs were cut from vinyl on the Silhouette Cameo and then, with the help of transfer material, applied to a background of quilting template material that should be available in just about any quilt shop. However, you could also use the plastic sheet protectors that are sold in office supply stores. The advantage of the quilting template material is that the sheets are bigger, about 12″ x 18″ so that they can be used for larger luminarias. To finish I taped the sides together with double sided tape to form a tube.  Instead of a candle I placed a battery operated tealight in the center.   I think that kids would be delighted with them and they are easy to make if you have a Silhouette Cameo or similar cutter. There is no sewing involved. You can also use the motifs to decorate your windows or walls. The vinyl clings to glass or any smooth surface and as there is no glue involved, it is easy to remove. Or, as I mentioned in my previous post, another option is to isolate a motif, such as a bat or a ghost and cut it from Heat Transfer Material and iron it on a T-shirt or Halloween bag. The designs are available on my website.  I also mentioned that I might write up the instructions for a very easy little Halloween bag. That too is now available on my website and it is free. Both the designs and the instructions can be found on the Holiday Designs page under the SVG-PDF-Applique tab or just click here.

And could you please leave a comment telling me what topics and type of designs you would like to see in the future? It would help me a great deal to know what your interests are, as long they are quilting, sewing, or craft related. Thanks.

Have a great week,

Georgette
http://www.quiltersniche.com
http://www.facebook.com\QuiltersNiche

Author: Quilters Niche News

I am a quilter and designer of quilts and digital quilting patterns for longarm systems and machine embroidery. I love to sew and all sorts of crafts

5 thoughts on “More Luminarias”

  1. I love these. I’m sure my grand children will love them. Great idea with the battery operated lights. Candles are too dangerous.

    Not sure if you have already done these but I’d like to do applique designs using the Silhouette. I do hand needle turn applique and raw edge applique on quilts. It would be nice to be able to do these on the Silhouette so I don’t have to slowly slowly cut out the pieces by hand.

    Thanks,
    Eva

    Like

    1. Yes Eva, you can cut for needle turn applique. Don’t use a fusible on the back. You still have to stiffen the fabric, either with starch or I like to use Terial Magic. Also make sure the fabric adheres to the mat really well. In the Silhouette add a seam allowance through the offset feature. You can choose the size of offset, for example 1/8″ inch or 1/4″. All the flower samples I have shown were fused and then stitched down with a very narrow zigzag stitch with monofilament thread that is practically invisible. Although I love needle turn I just don’t have the time for it. If you use the freezer paper method for your needle turn you could first cut your freezer paper at the actual size and then cut the fabric shapes with an offset. Then iron the freezer paper to the back of the fabric. Good luck.

      Like

      1. Thank you for this information. I just learned of Terial Magic a week or so ago. I’ve ordered two bottles. They should be arriving any day now. Will see how they work. Eva

        Like

  2. I love all comments but agree with Eva. I would love to learn how to do applique designs that I could use in needle turn applique. Raw edge applique would be nice also.

    Like

    1. Hi Judy, Did you see my reply to Eva? To cut fabric on the Silhouette, it has to be quite stiff, that’s why I use Terial Magic. That stiffness may be a bit of a drawback for needle turn, but it does cut down on fraying and it does wash out. Another option is to iron freezer paper to the back instead. I know some people do that, but I have to admit that I have not yet tried it. If anyone has, please let us know what you think of that method.

      Like

Leave a comment

