Easy Quilt Sleeves

Yesterday I posted a link to a video on an easy method to add a quick and easy sleeve to a quilt on my Facebook page.  I am repeating it here so it won’t get lost. The link is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zB1PBQx6mgM&feature=share.

quilt slevve.PNG

I particularly like the tip where a sleeve was added not only to the top, but also to the bottom to help the quilt hang straight. This method is new to me and anything to help make the tedious task of adding sleeves (and binding) is very welcome. I don’t know about you, but for me, once the quilting is done I want to be finished and hang the quilt so I can enjoy it. I have in the past used a similar method which is even faster, but it is only suitable for small wall hangings as it only uses a triangle on each side and nothing in the middle.

Here it is:

I cut two squares of fabric and fold each one in half (only once). Before adding the binding I pin each one to the back of my wall hanging, one on each side, so that the raw edges of the triangles are even with the top and sides of the quilt. Once the binding is sewn on through all layers and finished, I’m done. That’s it, no hand sewing at all. I just have to cut a dowel a little bit smaller than the size of the quilt (to compensate for the binding)and slip it under the triangles.

small quilt sleeve

TIP:
If you are worried that the long edges of the triangles will stretch because they are on the bias, you can sew a strip of interfacing or fabric on the inside along the edge.

If you have a great tip, please let me know as I would love to pass it on.

Georgette

 

 

Author: Quilters Niche News

I am a quilter and designer of quilts and digital quilting patterns for longarm systems and machine embroidery. I love to sew and all sorts of crafts

Leave a comment

