One UFO finished

First of all  I want to wish all the new subscribers a very warm welcome. I hope you enjoy my blog and look forward to a long relationship. Please feel free to leave comments or suggest new topics. And if you ask questions I’ll do my best to answer them. Of course I don’t pretend to know everything, but I’m very good at finding things out.

A while back I may have mentioned that I made a list of things that needed my attention, organization or maintenance and I had planned to get it all done before the end of the year. Well, it was the plan anyway, but it is now 6 months later and I am about halfway done. I always seem to under estimate how long things take, but I am making progress and I just finished a quilt that I abandoned 10 years ago.  What I remember is that at that time I fell in love with a new line of fabric, Growing Wild, with water lilies, irises, poppies, and other flowers in lovely colors. What’s not to like! I designed and made a quilt top in no time and then it became a UFO (unfinished object). My interests changed as I became more and more involved in designing quilting patterns. But now after all these years I finished it and I’m glad I did.

Here it is. I called it In full Bloom.

in full bloom

The blocks were fussy cut and the colors are more vibrant than those in the picture.

Here is a close up of one of the blocks. Amazing how different the colors are of 2 pictures of the same quilt:

in full bloom close up

The fabric for the back features water lilies, but unfortunately I did not have enough and had to piece large blue strips on the sides.

The back:

in full bloom fabric

I designed the quilting, FL-019 Water Lilies, especially for this quilt and it is available on my website at http://www.quiltersniche.com/quilting/Flowers_1.htm, but it took me 10 years before I finally did the quilting.

In-Full-Bloom-quilting

The quilt pattern (for piecing) is available at Cozy Quilt shop, but the picture on the pattern was done in different fabrics because by the time someone made a sample to test the pattern the Growing Wild fabric was already sold out. Lesson learned: When you see fabric you like, better buy it right away because the following week it may be gone. Here is a picture of the pattern:

In-Full-Bloom

I found one more quilt top stuck away on a shelf. I may quilt and finish that one too. Another item that was not on my to do list. I guess that is why it is taking me so long to finish that list. I keep finding other things to do.

Have a great weekend everyone and Happy Mother’s Day wishes to all the Moms.

Until next time.

Georgette

 

Author: Quilters Niche News

I am a quilter and designer of quilts and digital quilting patterns for longarm systems and machine embroidery. I love to sew and all sorts of crafts

Leave a comment

