Fabric Painting

WOW, time sure flies when you are having fun, or even when you are just busy. That’s my excuse for not posting sooner. And, yes, I do have fun. At least most of the time, as long as I don’t have to take care of those pesky little admin details that sometimes demand priority. Maintaining a website for example. When I first started my website I had no idea what I was getting into. I had a lot to learn and still do and sometimes fun projects get put aside and then remain unfinished. Here is one I just finished, almost finished to be exact.

coloring-class

About a year ago, or maybe it was actually two years, I took a fun class on fabric painting with Inktense pencils taught by Desiree Habicht. It was great, but I was unable to finish the sample in class. Just recently I joined a Facebook group on machine embroidery and some of the members posted fabulous examples of fabric painting. That reminded me that I still had a half finished block so I took some time and finished painting it. I am new at this, but it was fun and I may practice some more. If you want to know how it is done you can find a lot of videos on YouTube using different techniques. The method I learned was with Derwent Inktense pencils. We were given a quilt block with an outline stitched on either a longarm or an embroidery machine. The outline is then colored in with the pencils after which a Fabric Medium is applied. When everything is dry it is ironed to heat set the paint and it becomes washable.

I have read that some people just use regular coloring pencils, but I have not tried that so I can’t comment on how well that works. Also, it is supposed to work better on PFD fabric (prepared for dyeing). That is a fabric without any finish or sizing.

Georgette

Author: Quilters Niche News

I am a quilter and designer of quilts and digital quilting patterns for longarm systems and machine embroidery. I love to sew and all sorts of crafts

One thought on “Fabric Painting”

  1. Some years ago I used to demo the paints that had a ball tip. When I found the Derwent pencils I was already into quilting and loved how a quilt can be transformed by the color added. Derwent pencils are really great, I like them a lot.

    Like

Leave a comment

