Christmas decoration

A few weeks ago I discovered a fantastic new machine embroidery group on Facebook, EmbroideryM.O.M.  M.O.M stands for Mastering our Machines and Nadine, the owner of the group is not only a very nice lady, but she also posts some fantastic videos to inspire everyone. One of these videos shows how to make a bunch of floral petals and then arrange them and sew them into a large flower as a decoration for a pillow. petal-pillow

This was definitely something I wanted to try. I did not have enough fabric for a whole pillow, but I did have some nice red batik fabric. So I adapted Nadine’s technique and made this candle wreath:

candle-wreath

The petals were sewn on an embroidery machine, but could easily be sewn with a regular sewing machine. You can follow Nadine’s instructions in her video. If you like the candle wreath you can sew the petals on a circle of fabric and leave the center free  so there is room to place a candle.  I don’t have a pattern I can share as this was not my design, but you can watch Nadine’s video if you become a member of the EmbroideryM.O.M group. You can find it on Facebook at this link:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/EmbroideryMOM/

You’ll receive a warm welcome. The group is quite new, but there are already several videos and has over 2,000 members.

 

Author: Quilters Niche News

I am a quilter and designer of quilts and digital quilting patterns for longarm systems and machine embroidery. I love to sew and all sorts of crafts

Leave a comment

