Paper Piecing made easy

If you love the ease of paper piecing and the accurate results you get, but don’t enjoy picking out all the paper pieces in the end, don’t despair. I came across a video that I want to share with you. It explains a method that eliminates that last step. It still uses paper. You just don’t sew through it. Instead of sewing over the printed line, you fold the paper back on the line and sew next to the line. Another improvement is that instead of regular paper that you would secure with either a pin or a dab of washable glue, the video shows to use freezer paper that can be pressed to the fabric to secure it. It all looks so easy. I will definitely give this a try in the future. If you have already tried this method, I would love to see your comments on how you like it.

Here is the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mt5NvlBhAoM

Have fun and enjoy your weekend.

Georgette

Author: Quilters Niche News

I am a quilter and designer of quilts and digital quilting patterns for longarm systems and machine embroidery. I love to sew and all sorts of crafts

3 thoughts on “Paper Piecing made easy”

  1. What a mess I had with freezer paper. All was well in the beginning but after pressing the freezer paper begins to shrink and not evenly. I tried this on a small storm at sea quilt and never again. Ripping paper at the end is so worth it. Lately I have been using newsprint paper, LOVE it. I can still print my templates and it’s easier to remove.

    Like

    1. Hi Denise.
      Thank you for your comment. I use freezer paper a lot for applique and never had any problems. However, I just saw a video that advised to preshrink freezer paper by ironing it first before using it so there must be other people who have had problems. Perhaps it has something to do with the heat setting on the iron or when using steam. It is always a good idea to test new methods before using them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. With applique I never had any issues either using freezer paper. Even pre-ironing the freezer paper there is still distortion and shrinkage. Good luck with it.

        Like

Leave a comment

